Press Release 8 of 2020: Prof Lungile Pepeta the new chairperson of CMS Council

PRETORIA, 25 June 2020 – The Minister of Health, Hon Dr Zwelini Mkhize has appointed Professor Lungile Pepeta as the new Chairperson of the Council for Medical Schemes (CMS), the regulator of the medical schemes industry. This appointment is effective from 18 June 2020 to the end of November 2020.

Announcing the appointment, Dr Sipho Kabane, Chief Executive and Registrar of CMS said the appointment of Prof Pepeta came at an important time where the country was grappling with the increase in coronavirus (COVID-19) infections.

“Prof Pepeta’s appointment comes at a period where 15% of the population — approximately 8.9 million lives are dependent on medical schemes to provide essential health care coverage throughout this COVID-19 pandemic. The CMS will ensure that the interests of medical scheme beneficiaries are protected at all times in line with its regulatory mandate, and we look forward to Prof Pepeta’s leadership as we brave through this storm.”

Prof Pepeta is a seasoned doctor and academic, currently serving as the Executive Dean: Faculty of Health Sciences at Nelson Mandela University in Port Elizabeth and has served in key structures of the Health Professions Council of South Africa (HPCSA). He has also worked for various public hospitals in the field of Paediatric Cardiology.

He holds an MBChB from the University of Transkei (now Walter Sisulu University). His postgraduate qualifications include a Diploma in Child Health, Fellowship of the College of Paediatricians, and a Certificate in Cardiology of the College of Paediatricians, all from the Colleges of Medicine of South Africa. He also holds a Master of Medicine in Paediatrics from the University of the Witwatersrand as well as a Fellowship of the Society for Cardiovascular Angiography and Interventions (USA). Prof Pepeta is currently completing a PhD in Paediatrics from the University of Stellenbosch.

Prof Pepeta has been an ordinary member of the Council since his appointment by the Minister of Health in November 2017. He replaces the late Dr Clarence Mini who passed away in May this year due to COVID-19 related complications. Prof Pepeta will be supported by Deputy Chairperson, Adv Harshila Kooverjie and eight other Council members.

Please click here to read the official press release